top of page

What is an FQHC Health Center?

We are a Community Health Center (CHC), also known as a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC). A FQHC is a community-driven, nonprofit primary care center. An FQHC exists to serve all members of the community and openly welcome the uninsured and the underinsured  that have limited access to healthcare. FQHCs integrate access to pharmacy, mental health, physical health, and other health concerns in areas where economic, geographic, or cultural barriers limit access to affordable health care.

An FQHC health care center’s mission is

  • to help all of our community get quality, primary health care services

  • to help patients make appointments and keep regular visits to their primary care physician

  • to provide health care to all patients, even if they have no insurance


Compass offers patients

  • Medical care, both primary and preventative

  • Care Coordination

  • Pharmacy services on-site

  • Behavioral and mental health visits

  • Women’s health

  • Occupational Therapy visits that utilize a sensory gym

  • Outreach & Enrollment

  • Connection to top specialists, surgeons, imaging, lab work and more


FQHCs operate under the leadership of a consumer-driven Board of Directors and follow the supervision of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), which is part of the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). FQHCs were originally meant to provide health services to the medically underserved to reduce the patient load on hospital emergency rooms.


FQHCs provide their services to all persons regardless of ability to pay and charge for services using a sliding-fee scale, which is based on patients' family income and size. (FQHCs must comply with Section 330 program requirements.)


In return for serving all patients regardless of ability to pay, the centers receive from the Federal government grants, cost-based reimbursement for their Medicaid patients, and the opportunity to receive malpractice coverage under the Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA).

To learn more about Community Health Centers, visit HRSA.

For more information on FQHCs visit Rural Health Information Hub.

bottom of page